2019 AIA Tri-States Architectural Excellence Design Awards


Compete with your peers from AIA New Jersey, AIA New York State, and AIA Pennsylvania to be honored for architectural excellence! Project categories include architecture, multi-family residential design, single-family residential design, interior architecture, preservation architecture, regional and urban design, impact design and un-built.


AIA Tri-States Architectural Excellence will celebrated in conjunction with October’s  AIA Tri-States Conference, Breaking Ground, on October 18th during a presentation and reception in Albany’s Egg, an icon of New York’s Capital District designed by Harrison & Abramovitz.


Sharon Johnston, FAIA

Sharon Johnston, FAIA

Partner, Johnston Marklee & Associates Los Angeles, CA

Christopher Hawthorne

Christopher Hawthorne

Chief Design Officer for the City of Los Angeles & Former Architecture Critic for the Los Angeles Times

Frank Escher

Frank Escher

Principal at Escher GuneWardena, Los Angeles


Each project submission will require the following collateral for jury review. More details can be found on submission requirements including an outline of submission form fields required are outlined in the program guidelines document located on the submission portal site.

  • Project Binder (PDF File Upload)
  • Project Narrative (Audio File Upload)
  • Project Images (4 Image File Uploads)

Please note: The collateral materials outlined above must be blind including image file names, audio narrative content/file name, and project binder content/file name. Submissions materials that indicate a firm affiliation will be disqualified.


Submission to your AIA state chapter’s respective design awards is an eligibility requirement for the AIA Tri-States Awards program.

More details on project eligibility can be found in the program guidelines document located on the submission portal site.


Email or call Olivia Perry, AIA Pennsylvania Director of Communications at operry@aiapa.org or 717.857.7644