Tri-State Architectural Excellence Design Awards & Celebration

Session Title: Tri-State Architectural Excellence Design Awards & Celebration
Date: Friday, October 18, 2019
Time: 7:00 PM – 10:00 PM
Location:  The Egg at Empire State Plaza, Hart Theatre

About the Egg:

The construction of The Egg began in 1966 and was completed twelve years later in 1978. The Egg was designed by Wallace Harrison for all the people of New York State and to accommodate many events and performances.

Architecturally, The Egg is without precedent. From a distance it seems as much a sculpture as a building. Though it appears to sit on the main platform, the stem that holds The Egg actually goes down through six stories deep into the Earth. The Egg keeps its shape by wearing a girdle – a heavily reinforced concrete beam that was poured along with the rest of the shell. This beam helps transmit The Egg’s weight onto the supporting pedestal and gives the structure an ageless durability that belies its nickname.

The presentation will be in the Swyer Theatre that is used for chamber music concerts, cabaret, lectures, multimedia presentations, solo performers and a majority of educational programming. The reception will be held in the Hart Lounges that wraps around the Egg.
The building’s curved exterior defines the interior statement as well. There are virtually no straight lines or harsh corners inside The Egg. Instead, walls along the edge curve upward to meet gently concave ceiling light for celestial effect. The backs of performing areas are fanned – inviting one inward – providing an intimacy impossible in a conventional theatre. And throughout, walls of Swiss pearwood veneer add warmth and enhance the acoustics in the theatres.

Visually distinctive, yet ingenious The Egg is a beautiful synthesis of form and function. The Egg itself is owned by the State of New York and managed by the not-for-profit Nelson A. Rockefeller Empire State Plaza Performing Arts Center Corporation. 

The Awards:

Projects from AIA New Jersey, AIA New York State, and AIA Pennsylvania will be honored for architectural excellence! Project categories include architecture, multi-family residential design, single-family residential design, interior architecture, preservation architecture, regional and urban design, impact design and un-built.


Christopher Hawthorne

Christopher Hawthorne

Chief Design Officer for the City of Los Angeles & Former Architecture Critic for the Los Angeles Times

Frank Escher

Frank Escher

Principal at Escher GuneWardena, Los Angeles

Escher GuneWardena, Los Angeles

Sharon Johnston, FAIA

Sharon Johnston, FAIA

Partner, Johnston Marklee & Associates Los Angeles, CA